Tales from the Pool: Funhouse Mirror

If you’re a friend of mine on Facebook, you might be aware that I’ll periodically write about going swimming at the local leisure centre, and some of the bizarre encounters I have at the pool.  I enjoy swimming, it’s good exercise and relaxing when I get a chance to really get into it.  But sometimes the variety of pool nuisances and strange characters that also populate a community pool get in the way of that.  My experiences, ranging from the annoying to the slightly surreal, make me wonder if the left turn up the road to the leisure centre in fact takes me into some Lynchian dreamscape.

Some people have suggested I try making a webcomic out of them, so I’ve finally relented and decided to give it a go.  Now, I am absolutely NOT an artist.  I’m a writer, and as you’ll see, I stick to the writing with good reason.  But for something silly like this, I figured I’d be as well just doing my own art.  Plus, I’m not sure if anyone else wants to draw me in speedos.  I don’t propose to keep any kind of regular schedule for this, but perhaps every so often – either when reminiscing about some past oddity, or being confronted by a new one – I’ll try drawing a new edition of Tales from the Pool.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

