The Adventures of Me and Me

Over the past few weeks, I’ve been taking part in the Gender Through Comic Books massive online open course.  I joined up because the reading list looked fun, and the prospect of getting to watch live interviews with such famous comic names as Mark Waid, Scott Snyder, Gail Simone and Brian K Vaughan sounded highly tantalising.  But in doing the course, I’ve actually learned a lot about gender and how its depicted in fiction and entertainment, comics in particular, and it’s raised some interesting questions for me as a reader and as a creator myself.

The big assignment for the course was to create your own comic about your experiences with gender.  I was stumped on what to do for the longest time.  What had happened in my life regarding my experiences with my straight-white-male gender that would be noteworthy enough to make a comic out of?  My longtime enjoyment of TV series Desperate Housewives?  In the end, I ended up cheating a bit by writing something that may not quite have actually happened to me, but hopefully speaks to my experience with masculinity and the stereotypes and conventions that come with it.  As ever, apologies for the ropey art!

MeandMe1 MeandMe2 MeandMe3 MeandMe4

Leave a Reply

